If I could just make a difference.

Posted on April 20, 2010

0


crab apple tree blossom

Blossoms on my Table

It is spring time, the neighborhood comes out to enjoy those beautiful rare days in Chicago where the weather is just perfect.

A few weeks ago when I came home from the doctor one of the neighborhood boys was outside. I stopped the car to chat with him. This boy now so big and now in High School.

This same boy who was only a young lad two seasons ago was the only person from my neighborhood who actually stopped me to let me know he was sorry about my son. That moment in time I shall never forget.

I woke up this morning and to my surprise as I looked out our sliding glass window I saw an arrangement of floral petals placed on some green leaves upon my small glass top table on the patio.

You see when I stopped to chat with this boy a few weeks ago and I thanked him for stopping that day to say he was sorry about Jonathan.

    We spoke of motherly love.
    We spoke of his first semester in High School
    We spoke of his trials and tribulations at school.
    We spoke about so much more…
    We spoke of Jonathan and laughed
    We spoke of motherly love.

During our little chat I had just mentioned the fact that Jonathan’s Grandfather had told him no matter what you do each day give your mother something, whether that be a blade of grass, a weed, a daisy, a rock, a stick, a flower, that dead ugly bug or better yet a hug everyday.

Today I woke up to beautiful petals on my table and new that through Jonathan on my new journey:

I made a difference in someone’s life.

Posted in: Reality